A talk with young German pseudo-Nazis

Home » Current events and news » A talk with young German pseudo-Nazis

A talk with young German pseudo-Nazis

The young Germans engaged in discussion with the Jewish author of this article are people my age and younger. While I am no expert on German people or culture, I did spend several years in Germany in the 80's when I was in the U.S. Army. I can tell you that we weren't really the most loved people on the planet to the German back then. I was engaged in more than one physical altercation because I was an American breathing a German's air, but I always figured it was because some of my fellow Americans were not trying to be gracious guests. Still, even accounting for this, they seemed different. Sometimes they will say things after a few drinks that will leave you wondering, too. The author got a real awakening.

It seems that this author might be illuminating the reason:

... Quote:
In in his controversial tome, "Hitler's Willing Executioners", the author, Daniel Goldhagen, posits that the Germans underwent a miraculous transformation in the wake of their devastating defeat in World war II. En masse, they have abandoned their centuries-old rabid, virulent, and ultimately lethal brand of anti-Semitism and anti-Slavism and became docile, altruistic citizens of the New World Order. This unlikely scenario sounds too good to be true because it is far from the truth.

In the last 4 years (starting in late 2003), I have had multiple opportunities to collaborate or hold lengthy conversations with dozens of young German scholars, intellectuals, artists, and budding politicians from across the political and ideological spectrum. As alcohol and mutual acquaintance put them at ease, they all, with one or two exceptions, reverted to shocking form.