PHP5 is out and looks like Java

Home » Science & Technology » PHP5 is out and looks like Java

PHP5 is out and looks like Java

Although I am a newbie to php, this may be of interest to those out there wondering where its going.. An excellent article on PHP and its future.

http://www.kuro5hin.org/sto...

The first question that springs to mind is: "Does any of this look familiar to any of you?"
Upon encountering the revisions for the first time, my immediate thought was "Hang on; I thought this was PHP". To cut to the chase: It looks almost exactly like Java!

--------

The first point to be considered is that, to genuinely extend its grasp, PHP doesn't need to move off the webserver that much. The truth of Sun's high-profile assertion that "The network is the computer", whilst much derided at the time, has become increasingly evident over the years. The current 'hype application du jour' is undoubtedly Gmail: a web-based email application. The browser is becoming increasingly important as network-application-client cast against its more tradional role as remote-document-viewer. Don't argue; The fact you're even reading this is half-proof in itself: Scoop is a content-management application.

Think of the things already possible via a browser: Games, Audio, Video, Animation, Communication, Creative and factual writing, Trade etc. Granted, it's not like you can play GTA: Vice City, or edit real-time high-resolution video yet, but is the day really that far off? It's simply a question of ease-of-use, bandwidth, economics and will. Joel Spolsky deals with this whole issue in last month's excellent article, "How Microsoft Lost the API War".

The second point is that not only is this increasingly a networked world, it's also becoming more and more of an "interpreted world"; by which I mean that many new applications are being developed in non-natively-compiled languages.